Arson in Georgia

 Arson is the act of deliberately damaging a structure, dwelling or piece of personal property with fire or explosives. This crime is a felony in Georgia and will be charged in the first, second or third degree depending on the details of the case.

The prosecution will take all of the facts of the case into account when levying charges. The criteria for each degree of arson is as follows:

  • First Degree: When a person uses fire or explosives to damage a home, vehicle, or other structure
  • Second Degree: When an individual encourages or assists another person in the commission of arson
  • Third Degree: When a person fire or explosives cause damage to personal property with a value of $25 or more

Penalties for Arson

If convicted of arson, the penalties you will face depend on the degree of your charge. For example:

  • First Degree: One to 20 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $50,000
  • Second Degree: One to 10 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $25,000
  • Third Degree: One to five years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000